top of page

Shadowbox (UPDATE)


Shadowbox instructors deserve and updated review since I am there so often (and since the two instructors I reviewed previously left for Rumble). My favorite two classes to attend are with Jess and Rad.

Jess:

This class is tough. If you want a simple workout, this is not the class for you. If you want to be pushed to your absolute limit, sweat like you have never sweat before, and feel sore for a few days, you are in the right place. This class is what I would consider a boxing technique+full body workout. It includes AMRAPs and a ton of ab work sorted between boxing rounds. Resting is not an option (and you will thank yourself later).

Advice:

Expect a lot of squats and abs

Rad:

This class is also incredibly tough and pushes you to your limit, but has a lot of focus on boxing technique. When I'm in this class, I focus on every detail of my punches, defense, and movement around the bag. Rad's class is actually the very first class that I attended and I have been a loyal patron ever since.

Advice:

Expect a lot of burpees

You will not be disappointed with either instructor. You get the best of everything - technique, full body intense workouts, non-stop movement, and an overall amazing workout that will keep you coming back every week.

---------------------------------------------------------

August 18, 2017

Class I took: Shadowbox 45 min

Instructor: Jaws and Jeremiah (Shoutout to Rad's class as well!)

Location: Flatiron studio

The spot is nice and new. The locker room is fairly small, but is very clean.

What I liked:

If you get the right instructor, this is a great workout. Jaws and Jeremiah go through each move before class enough to which everyone will be able to understand. If you are new to the class and can't really follow steps as easily, these are the two instructors to attend.

Jaws announces the reps clear and often, which not all instructors do. You may get lost here and there, but she will set you right back on track and push you to the limit. On another note, this class mixes boxing and conditioning workouts. You will be punching the bag and doing burpees and squats and all the things that will make you sweaty and sore. Great combo!!

Jeremiah's class, which I attended yesterday, was more about technique. He was vocal, walked around the room often, repeated the moves clearly and in different areas around the room, which I thought was really helpful, especially for the first timers. There was some conditioning moves mixed in with the boxing, but not as much as Jaws' class, so it really depends on what you are looking to get out of the class. I actually really liked the focus on technique.

What I didn't like:

Like I mentioned, if you get the wrong instructor, this could mess up your entire 45 min workout. Some of the instructors do not repeat the reps and you could easily get lost (or maybe it's just me). It can also be difficult to see the instructor if you book your bag in an odd spot.

Final thoughts:

I really like this workout. After the stresses of life, sometimes it's fun to take the aggression out. I tend to like conditioning and strength workouts and this does it for me. If you book the right instructor and push yourself to the limit, you will get an awesome workout, sweat out all of your excess booze and toxins from the week before, and have a good feeling of sore and sense of accomplishment.

Price:

$20 first visit, $34 for single classes. Glove rental is not included - $1. Unless you have your own wraps, you will have to purchase them, but they are yours to keep - $4.

Will I return: Yes, 100%

bottom of page