top of page

trampoLEAN

Class I took:

trampoLEAN Booty Sculpt: Legs + Butt

Instructor:

Brent

Location:

Stepping Out Studios at 37 W. 26th St. 9th Floor, New York, NY 10010

Walking in here totally threw me off. If you are used to taking studio classes, you will not expect what you see walking in to trampoLEAN. The studio is inside of a dance studio - literally. You have to walk through couples dancing the Tango to get into the class, which was completely unexpected. What I didn't like was the girl who worked at the front desk who told my friends and I to sit in the waiting area and she would let us know when to go into the class. She never told us and it was 3 minutes before class began, so we decided to ask if it was okay to go back yet. Her response was, "yeah, you will be late!". Thanks for the heads up.

The Breakdown:

When you come in to class, there is a place to put your coat and shoes if you wish to take them off (I did not and was the only one in class who chose to keep them on). You are not able to sign up for a specific trampoline before class, so get there early if you want to be in the back. Since my friends and I were a little misinformed by the front desk, we had to be in the front row. For the legs+butt class, we grabbed a resistance band and one dumbbell that would be used for squats. The workout begins with a small warm-up of jumping jacks and leads into more complex jumping exercises. Don't let the jumping scare you, though - you will use the trampoline as a "box" throughout class as well.

What I liked:

What I liked the most (and, for some reason, wasn't truly expecting) was the energy of the class. As thrown off as I was by the location, the energy made up for it. The instructor, Brent, was really helpful and happy. He walked around the class often and provided any advice or help that was needed, but was not too pushy. He allowed everyone to go at their own pace.

The class was also a lot harder than I was expecting. I have to admit, I dragged a couple of friends with me to class and we went to a boxing class just before coming to trampoLEAN thinking it was going to be easy. It wasn't - and now we are sore. It was a lot of fun jumping around, but it also takes strength, balance, and concentration. Focus is key in this class. Some of the exercises that I liked included "box" jumps, lunges, and good old fashioned high knees with punches.

What I didn't like:

I didn't like the fact that you can't choose your trampoline ahead of class because I got stuck in the front right next to the instructor and I had no idea what I was getting myself into (we all know that feeling, am I right?). The location is a bit of a scare at first, but it grew on me and was kind of like one of those New York moments from an old movie that you never expect to walk into in real life.

Final thoughts:

Overall, trampoLEAN is a fun way to get a good workout in. It has good energy and it is for sure unlike any other workout I have ever tried.

Pro Tips:

Take a look at the class descriptions before booking. I did not look at first and almost ended up in the dancing class which would have been a completely different turnout for this post as dancing-involved classes are NOT my thing.

Price:

The first class costs $16.50. Individual classes purchased after that cost $33.00.

Will I return:

I actually think I will return for another class. I had fun, sweat like crazy, and was sore afterwards, so why not!

bottom of page